Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-12. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-1.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-12. ( Bhakti-yogam)
Slokam-s -  6 & 7.

ye  tu  sarvani  karmani  mayi sanyasya matparah, 

ananyenaiva yogena  mam dhyayanta upasate.

tu  ye  =  but  one  who;
sarvani  karmani  =  all  karma-s;
mayi  sanyasya  =  submit / surrender  unto  Me;
mat-parah  =  being  unto  Me  as  the  Supreme  Goal;
ananyena  eva  yogena  =  without  distraction,  fixing  his  mind,  on  that  goal  only;
mam dhyayanta upasate  =  meditate  that  Supreme  goal;

teṣham aham samuddharta  mṛtyusamsarasagarat,

bhavami na cirat partha  mayyavesitacetasam.

mayi  avesita   cetasam  =   who  have  their  manovrutti  completely  based  on  Me;
  tesham  =  for  them;
partha!  aham  =  hey  arjuna!  I;
na  cirat  =  without  delay;
mṛtyu-samsara-sagarat  =  from  the  ocean  of  life  and  death;
samuddharta  bhavami  =  I  give  liberation  ( from  the  ocean  of  samsaram)  to  them.


The devotees of the Supreme Lord Krishna do not have to undergo any tribulations or difficulties in order to reach Him quickly.

This is what He confirms in these two verses beginning with the words ye tu meaning but those who denotes those whose parents were conscious of Lord Krishna at the time of the infants very conception by which receiving such grace they were born devotees of the Supreme Lord or by destiny or karma being actions awarded based on previous actions, such beings acquire association of a pure devotee of Lord Krishna and are blessed by them.

Such fortunate jivas or embodied beings depend exclusively upon the Supreme Lord because He is absolutely the ultimate goal to be attained above all others in every situation and in all circumstances.

Such blessed beings are fully surrendered to the Supreme Lord, devoting their very lives for His complete satisfaction without motive or thought of recompense and reward for their activities.

Even while engaged in worldly activities for preservation of bodily maintenance for self and family such as food and shelter as well as performing Vedically ordained activities according to varnasrama or the four social order of Vedic society such as propitiation to the Supreme Lord, charity, etc. such surrendered beings continuously remember Lord Krishna as their most beloved and single object of adoration, reflecting again and again incessantly over His rupa or divine form, His guna or divine qualities, His lilas or divine pastimes, His dhama or divine abode and madhurya or His divine transcendental sweetness.

For such great souls Lord Krishna declares that He Himself becomes their saviour and personally delivers them from mrtyu-samsara-sagarat or the deadly ocean of the perpetual cycle of birth and death and this He declares that He does na cirat meaning without delay.

To be continued



Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …