Gita : Ch-12. Introduction-4.

Young Swami Chinmayananda

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-12. ( Bhakti-yogam


This has been documented in other Vedic scriptures as well in the Puranas.

Having started with the declaration in Rig Veda X.CXXV that :

Sri Lakshmi wanders wherever the different vibhuti or divine, transcendental opulence of the Supreme Lord appear such as the Rudras, the Vasus, the Adityas, the Visva-devas etc.

She is the gatherer of treasures and the empress of Lord Krishna's direct expansion Narayana the Lord of all Vaikuntha, the eternal spiritual worlds and being the personal sakti of the Supreme Lord she also expands herself as the consort of each and every incarnation and expansion of Lord Krishna and thus also merits worship.

Thus the demigods ( Deva-s )  and elevated beings have established her worship in many places and homes to abide in, on the left side of the Supreme Lord.

Through her alone all eat the food that feeds them as well as sees, breathes and hears the sound of the word outspoken, although they know it not and are unaware.

Hear now one and all the truth as she declared it :

The one who she benedict's excels above others and is most powerful becoming a sage, yogi or brahmana.

It is by her energy that the bow of Rudra is bent and his arrows are propelled to strike and slay those who disrespect, despise and offend the devotees of the Supreme Lord.

On the worlds summits she designates the powerful.

Her home is in the waters of the casual ocean far, far beyond the material worlds and far beyond even the heavenly planets.

Sri Laksmi the universal mother is majestic in her grandeur.

One who pleases her is blest to become a Brahmin, opulent and wise.

Because the Vedic scriptures state like this there may be some doubt as to whether Sri Laksmi has the capacity to grant moksa or liberation by the power of the Supreme Lord.

To discern this subtle truth and for the sake of knowledge Arjuna uses the word evam meaning in which way.

To be continued  ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-2. Slo-54.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.