Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-11. Slo-54.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-11. ( Visvarupa-darsana-yogam)

54. ( Arjuna, only by undivided devotional service can I be understood as I am, standing before you, and can thus be seen directly. Only in this way can you enter into the mysteries of My understanding.)

bhaktya  tvananyaya  sakyah  aham evam-vidhorjuna,

jnatum   drashtum   ca   tattvena   praveshtum  ca  parantapa.

tu  parantapa  arjuna!  =  but  Arjuna!;

evam  vidhah  aham  =  like  this  of  My  svarupam;

tattvena  jnatum  =  not  only  to  know  but  also  to  see  properly;

drashtum   praveshtum  ca  =  to  closely  understand  and  realise  too;

ananya  bhaktya  sakyah  =  possible  without being mixed with fruitive activities or speculative knowledge  and  by  devotional  service  only.

If by the previous methods of Vedic study and rituals one can not witness the human form of Lord Krishna then how is it possible to see Him?

Lord Krishna declares that one can have communion with Him only by bhaktya or loving devotion; but only if it is ananyaya or exclusive, meaning not divided or shared with anything else.

In this way only can He be jnatum or known in reality. The particle tu meaning but between bhaktya and ananyaya confirms that exclusive loving devotion is superior to all other means.

Janaka Pandit explains that consciousness is the higher power of the Supreme Lord and that unconsciousness is His lower power.

The Vishnu Purana VII.V states: Consciousness is the higher principle of the Supreme Lord whereas unconscious is the lower principle.

Those who are unconscious lack devotion to the Supreme Lord Krishna and are from His lower principle and thus are not able to perceive Him even by Vedic study and rituals.

Only by bhakti or exclusive loving devotion can the Supreme Lord Krishna be known as He really is. Study of the Vedas, meditation, performance of rituals, extreme austerities etc. are of no avail in perceiving Lord Krishna as paramatma or the Supreme Soul within all living entities and realising Him as He is.

But by bhakti Lord Krishna is easy to be known through the grace of the spiritual master who teaches the true purport of the Vedic scriptures which all relate to Lord Krishna.

Only by bhakti is it possible to have communion with the Supreme Lord Krishna as the actual experience of atma-tattva or soul realisation which activates one's divine relationship with Him.

The Katha Upanisad II.XXIII beginning nas yam atma prachanna meaning not by reflection, nor deliberation, nor concentration can Lord Krishna be attained.

He can only be attained by one who He, Himself specially elects and blesses to reveal His essence to.

Now Lord Krishna reveals the only way and means that one who is initiated by His devotee may see His original two armed human like form which is pure spiritual sat-cid-ananda or eternal existence, unlimited cognizance and endless bliss and enter into communion with Him.

The only way and means He states as bhaktya te ananyaya meaning exclusive loving devotion unto Him.

Only by undivided, uninterrupted, one-pointed loving devotion to the Supreme Lord Krishna can entrance into His divine transcendental pastimes be attained and one knows Him in reality through the spiritual preceptor who is His devotee and by His teachings of the Vedic scriptures only is it possible for Lord Krishna to be perceived and realised by direct cognition and attain eternal communion with Him in the spiritual worlds.

By no other means, method, technique or ritual is in any way possible to achieve this.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…