Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-11. Slo-33.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-11. (Visvarupa-darsana-yogam)

Slokam-33.(Therefore get up and prepare to fight. After conquering your enemies you will enjoy a flourishing kingdom. They are already put to death by My arrangement, and you, O Savyasācin, can be but an instmment in the fight.)

tasmat  tvamuttishtta  yaso  labhasva

jitva  satrun   bhunkshva  rajyam  samrddham,

mayaivaite  nihatah  purvam  eva

nimittamatram  bhava  savyasacin.

tasmat   tvam  uttishtta  = therefore  you  get up;

satrun  jitva  yasah   labhasva  =  earn  fame  on  victory  over  your  enemies;

samrddham   rajyam  bhunkshva   =  experience  the  prosperity  of  your  kingdom;

maya  eva   ete  =   these  people  I;

purvam  eva  nihatah  =  have  already  completely  killed  them;

savyasacin!  =  arjuna! the able  left  hand user  in  archery;

(tvam)  nimittamatram  bhava  =  (you)  just  become  the  cause  (of  killing  only).

The Supreme Lord Krishna is the absolute and independent controller of all creation, Every living being depends solely upon Him for their existence and maintenance.

He is also the absolute and independent destroyer and He confirms that all the warriors of the battle are nihatam-purvam meaning already slain by His mere desire.

Therefore as Lord Krishna is the actual destroyer Arjuna should arise and defeat his enemies and win glory in the form of slaying Bhishma, Drona, Karna etc. who were invincible even to the demigods.

Vanquishing his mighty foes he and his brothers can abundantly enjoy the flourishing kingdom of Earth.

All the Kaurava warriors Arjuna will be fighting are already slain before he fights with them by Lord Krishna and Arjuna should merely as a conduit be the Supreme Lord's implement for slaying them.

The vocative savya-sacin meaning expert archer reveals that Arjuna is ambidextrous and able to discharge arrows with either hand.

Lord Krishna is instructing Arjuna to arise from his lethargy of mind and fight for righteousness.

By vanquishing the Kauravas he will acquire lasting glory and enjoy the prospering kingdom of Earth which will be rightfully administered and protected by the Pandavas.

Lord Krishna alone by Himself has already determined the course of the battle and the destruction of all the unrighteous.

In this work Arjuna is merely an instrument and must only accept the role of conqueror as an implement of war.

Arjuna is addressed as savya-sacin or expert archer from the root shach meaning equal.

This was because he was ambidextrous and could fix an arrow to a bow shooting it equally with left or right hand.

Lord Krishna reiterates that it is His will that the Kauravas are to perish and that Arjuna should arise for battle and attain fame by conquering Bhishma, Drona and Karna who are unable to be conquered even by the demigods.

The Kauravas and their army have already been slain before the battle has even commenced by the desire of Lord Krishna through His potency known as kala or all consuming time and He informs Arjuna that he is nimitta-matram or merely the instrument, for accomplishing this.

Lord Krishna addresses Arjuna as savyasacin meaning skilful with the left hand because being ambidextrous he is able to shoot arrows equally with his left hand as well as with his right hand.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…