Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-11. Slo-40.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-11. ( Visvarupa-darsana-yogam)

Slokam-40. (Obeisances from the front, from behind and from all sides! O unbounded power, You are the master of limitless, might! You are all-pervading, and thus You are everything!)

namah  purastadatha  prshthataste

namostu  te  sarvata  eva  sarva,


sarvam  samapnoshi  tatosi  sarvah.

sarvah!  =  All-pervading  O Lord;

purastadatha,  prshthatah  te  namah  =    from the front  and  also  from  the  behind,  offering my  obeisances,  to  You;

atha,  sarvatah  eva  =  also,  from  all  sides,  because;

te  namah  astu  =  You  are  everything,  I  bow  at  Your  feet;

ananta-viryamita-vikramah  =    with  unlimited potency,  and  unlimited force;

tvam  sarvam   samapnoshi   =  You  are  all-pervading,  clothing  all  over;

tatah  sarvah  asi  =  therefore  You  are  everything.

Beholding the resplendent Supreme Lord Krishna in all His glory before him, Arjuna out of extreme expressions of devotion salutes the Supreme Lord with praises such as ananta-virya or unlimited personality and amita-vikramah or immeasurably powerful and humbly offers Him obeisance from all directions. He also states that Lord Krishna pervades the total creation because it is an extension of Him therefore He is everything in existence.

Due to His attributes of omniscience and omnipresence it is clearly established that Lord Krishna Himself is paramatma or the Supreme eternal soul pervading all creation and all living entities for the collective total of every atma or eternal soul of all living entities constitutes His divine, transcendental spiritual body and which also contains what appears to be inanimate as well.

This proves that the material creation is not just an illusory mirage that is not factual adhered to by the mayavadis or the pseudo- impersonalists who do not believe that the Supreme Lord has unlimited qualities, phenomenal attributes and wonderfully, sublime personality.

Lord Krishna is being addressed thus :-

 O' infinite energy, the embodiment of everything, thy glory is beyond measure. As paramatma or the Supreme soul He enters and resides in all beings.

Thus He is the atma or eternal soul within all the unlimited multitudes of intelligent and non-intelligent living entities.

All atmas are of the same eternal quality and essence and all together constitute the divine, transcendental body of the Supreme Lord Krishna.

Thus Lord Krishna is the root source from which everything is manifested and all things are a part of Him and all names are a name of Him.

It is clearly apparent that the immanent nature and omnipresent characteristics of the Supreme Lord Krishna are the basis for the descriptions of His glory given in the previous three verses such as He is asat the cause and sat the effect as well as tatam visvam ananta-rupa of unlimited forms pervading all creation and references to His being all the demigods like Brahma, Yama, Vayuh etc.

Thus does Lord Krishna interpenetrate all existence.

By the way of establishing Lord Krishna as the embodiment of all and all pervasive with ananta-virya or unlimited potency, Arjuna gives Him obeisance from sarvatah or all directions as Lord Krishna pervades everything both inside and out exactly like gold pervades all the objects it incorporates such as bracelets and necklaces etc. In this way Lord Krishna is the embodiment of all creation as it comes from Him alone.

To be continued ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…