Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-11. Slo-21.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-11. (Visvarupa-darsana-yogam)

Slokam-21. ( All the demigods are surrendering and entering into You. They are very much afraid, and with folded hands they are singing the Vedic hymns. The demigods in all the planetary systems feared the terrific manifestation of the universal form and its glowing effulgence and so prayed for protection.)

amihi  tvam  surasamgha  visanti

kecidbhitah  pranjalayo  grnanti

svastityuktva  maharshisiddhasamghah

stuvanti  tvam  stutibhih  pushkalabhih.

ami  surasamghah  hi  =  These  community (group)  of  deva-s  ( demigods);

tvam  visanti  =  too  attain  your  lotus  feet;

kecid  bhitah  =  few  ( some  of  them)  out  of  fear;

pranjalayah  grnanti  =  pray  with  folded  hands;

maharshi  siddha  samghah  =  great maharish-s  and  siddha-s  ( sages );

"svasti"  iti  uktva  =  "attain   mangalam", this  way  bless  greetings;

 pushkalabhih  stutibhih  =  with  divine  vedic  hymens  and  prayers;

tvam  stuvanti  =  surrender  themselves  unto  your   lotus  feet.

The descriptions of the afflictions which were experienced is iterated in this verse and the next two.

All creation was greatly alarmed by the fiery all pervading aspect of Lord Krishna's visvarupa or divine universal form which appeared terrifying and frightening.

The demigods being direct servitors of the Supreme Lord functioning in the capacity of universal management approached Him for shelter while others of them being frightened stayed a far distance and with folded palms offered prayers of supplication.

Hosts of exalted sages and perfected beings could be heard shouting Jaya! Jaya! All glory! All glory!

Observing the unlimited faces of the visvarupa with their mouths emitting blazing fire like the devastating inferno at the time of universal destruction.

Benevolently these enlightened and liberated sages chanted svastity meaning may all be auspicious and extolled the Supreme Lord with excellent hymns describing His greatness and choice prayers praising His glories entreating Him to protect all creation.

The demigods being exclusively from sattva-guna or the nature of goodness rejoice upon seeing Lord Krishna's visvarupa or divine universal form and are awe inspired and enraptured.

Some among them were frightened by the visvarupa terrifying aspect which was also wonderful and bowed down to it with folded hands offering eulogies of praise and prayers of supplication each according to their perceptions.

Other great souls such as the Siddhas or perfected beings who have realised the higher and lower truths utter the benediction svastity meaning my there be all auspiciousness.

The maharishis or liberated sages upon beholding the visvarupa loudly resound the words Jaya Jaya meaning all glory, all glory and spontaneously compose wonderful Sanskrit hymns in glorification of it while performing sankirtan or congregational singing of the Supreme Lords Krishna's visvarupa along with His transcendental names, forms, qualities and pastimes.

Verily the hosts of demigods feeling aggrieved are entering Lord Krishna's visvarupa taking refuge.

The liberated sages and perfected beings are offering superb prayers praising the Supreme Lords glories with svasti iti uktva meaning all auspiciousness throughout creation.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…