Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-11. Slo-18.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-11. (Visvarupa-darsana-yogam)

Slokam-18. ( You are the supreme primal objective; You are the best in all the universes; You are inexhaustible, and You are the oldest; You are the maintainer of religion, the eternal Personality of Godhead.)

tvamaksharam   paramam   veditavyam

tvamasya  visvasya param  nidhanam,

tvamavyayah  sasvata-dharma-gopta

sanatanastvam  purusho mato me.

tvam  veditavyam   param = from  you  only  the  "Supreme"  to  be  understood;

aksharam  =  the letter  ( inexhaustible ),  as brahmam;

tvam  asya  visvasya  =  from  you  only  of  the  Universe;

param  nidhanam  =  the  Supreme  Support ( base/ basis);

tvam  avyayah  =  from  you  only  of  Sanatana dharma-s;

sasvata-dharma-gopta  =  the  great  protector  ever;

tvam  sanatanah  purushah  = ( from ) you  are  the PARAMATMA;

me  matah  =  I  think  so.    

The Supreme Lord Krishna's magnificent is beyond the ability of the mind and senses to fathom and comprehend.

It is declared in the Brihadaranyaka Upanishads III:VIII:X  : -

O Gargi if one performs ceremonial rituals, worship and propitiation and undergoes rigid austerities for thousands of lifetimes without knowledge of Lord Krishna being the Supreme God of all gods; then the results of all such activities is limited and minimal indeed.

Verily one who having lived their span of life in the material existence who departs this world ignorant and oblivious to the reality that the Supreme Lord Krishna is the ultimate cause of their very existence as well as the source of the complete cosmic creation is considered to be pitiful and their condition is lamentable.

But one who departs this world at the end of their life knowing the absolute paramount position of the Supreme Lord Krishna is exalted.

The Supreme Lord Krishna the origin and source of all things animate and inanimate is most worthy to be known to those who value their own best interests.

He is eternal, immutable, the spiritual substratum pervading all existence, the support, the preserver and the refuge for all creation.

There is no change or diminution in His form, qualities, attributes and potencies.

Lord Krishna and His avatars or incarnations and expansions authorised in Vedic scriptures are the eternal protector of the Vedas and the principles of righteousness delineated very precisely and concisely in the Vedic scriptures as they all are verily righteousness personified.

The Primal Supreme Being the ancient of all.

The Vedic scriptures known as the Upanishads declare also that Lord Krishna is aksharam paramam the Supreme immutable ultimate reality and declared in the Vedic scriptures as that which is essential to be known.

The word veditavyam means He is only to be know by the absolute authority of the Vedas.

The word avyayah means that which is imperishable and can never be diminished for in whatever aspect or form or manifestation Lord Krishna wills to be that will eternally be existing.

The phrase sasvata-dharma- gopta means the Supreme Lord Krishna is the eternal preserver of eternal righteousness embodied in the Vedic scriptures.

This is done by Himself and by His authorised avatars o incarnations and expansions as revealed in Vedic scriptures such as Narayana, Rama, Vishnu, Narasimhadeva, Buddha etc.

The words sanatanas tvam puruso means Lord Krishna is the eternal spirit and primal consciousness of all creation as affirmed in the Taittriya Upanisad III.XII beginning vedaham etam purusam meaning I perceive the magnificent Purusa.

Also in the Mundaka Upanisad I.I.IV beginning dve vidye veditavye meaning : -

The Purusa is more sublime than the most sublime.

All this is as the ornament of the complete cosmic creation Lord Krishna exhibited His visvarupa or divine universal form and is understood as such.

Since the Supreme Lord Krishna's almighty power is beyond the material conception it is correctly stated in Vedic scriptures that He the Ultimate destination and what is to be known for seekers of moksa or liberation from material existence.

He alone is imperishable, the Supreme salvation for all living entities, the Supreme refuge without a second for all creation.

Therefore Lord Krishna is eternal, immutable, the preserver, the protector and the sustainer of sanatan dharma or the eternal spiritual principles of righteousness for all times and He is absolutely without a doubt the original Supreme Lord of all lords and created beings.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …