Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-33.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam )

Slokam-33. (  Of letters I am the letter A, and among compounds I am the dual word. I am also inexhaustible time, and  I am ONE, whose manifold faces turn everywhere. )

aksharanamakarosmi  dvandvah  samasikasya  ca,

ahamevakshayah  kalah  dhataham  visvatomukhah.

aksharanam  akarh  =  of  letters  the  first  letter "A-karam"  ( A);

samasikasya  dvandvah   ca  asmi  =  of  two  things  of  equal  importance  and  easily  united  directly  ( compounds )  I  am  the Duel;

akshayah  kalah  aham  eva  =  I  am  the  Eternal  Time;

visvatomukhah  =  of  having  many  faces ( one  in  many  but   different  in  all );

dhata  aham  =  Dhata : ( Paramatma  the  sustainer the  vasanas   which  decide  the  individual's external world response ),  I  am.

Of letters of the alphabet, Lord Krishna's vibhuti or divine, transcendental opulence is the letter A for it representing all speech is the foremost.

The Vedic scriptures declare that the letter A is all speech and takes many various forms when manifested from different parts of the body such as throat, nose, palate, abdomen etc. Of compound words His vibhuti is the dual compound such as Rama-Krishna which exemplifies the prominence of both.

Before in slokam 30 He stated that His vibhuti was time in terms of controller regarding the longevity of all created beings lifespan, in the finite sense; but here He reveals another aspect of time being His vibhuti in the infinite sense as an eternal ever flowing constancy.

That time determined the duration of a life and is terminated when the jiva or embodied being's life is terminated. While this time flows uninterrupted as infinite time.

Of creators His vibhuti is dhataham visvato- mukhah meaning the four faced Brahma who faces can see on all sides.

Among the sounds of speech from the various letters of all languages Lord Krishna's vibhuti or divine, transcendental opulence is the sound represented by the first letter of the alphabet known as A.

Among different types of compounds in grammar His vibhuti is the dual compound whose both parts are complimentary yet independent. Among subjugators His vibhuti is all subjugating time terminating all existence in the form of Shiva at the time of universal destruction and of creators His vibhuti is visvato-mukhah the four- headed Brahma.

The Svetara Upanisad VI.XVI states  : -

He who is the knower and devourer of time the omniscient one possessing all auspicious attributes etc.

In the Udyoga Parva of Mahabharta it states : -

Lord Krishna incessantly revolves the wheel of time, the wheel of the worlds and the wheel of all dimensions by His vibhuti.

The Supreme Lord Krishna rules over all time, all death and all that is moving and non-moving. This is eternal truth.

Lord Krishna reveals that of the letters of the alphabet His vibhuti or divine, transcendental opulence is the Sanskrit letter A-kara which is the root of all other letters.

The Rig Veda, III.II.III in the Aitareya- Aranyaka section beginning akaro vai sarva-vak states that the letter A itself contains all speech.

An example of His vibhuti of dvandva or compound words are Rama-Krishna.

Samasikasya is the class of compound word forming in Sanskrit.

Of the several ways to compound Lord Krishna is the dual compound of which both terms are substantive attributes of equal position with each other grammatically.

His vibhuti is also expressed as ever flowing time composed of uninterrupted divisions such as kala a measurement of 8 seconds and muhurta a period comprising 1/60th of a 24 hour day.

Among secondary creators His vibhuti is the four headed dhataham known as Brahma.

 To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …