Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-23.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam )

Slokam- 23. ( Of all the Rudras I am Lord Siva; of the Yakshas and Rakshasas I am the lord of wealth [Kubera]; of the Vasus I am fire [Agni], and of the mountains I am Meru.)

rudranam   sankarascasmi   vitteso   yaksharakshasam,

vasunam  pavakascasmi  meruh   sikharinamaham.

rudranam   sankarah  ca  asmi  =  I  am  Lord  Siva  of  all  Rudras;

yaksha  rakshasam  =  of  the  Yakshas  and  Rakshasas;

vittesah  ( aham )  =  I  am  the  Kuberan  ( Lord  of  the  wealth and  treasure );

vasunam  pavakah  ca  asmi  =  I  am  the  Agni  ( Lord  of  fire ) of  Vasus;

sikharinam  meruh  aham  =  I  am  the  Meru  of  all  the  mountains.

There are eleven Rudras, of whom Sankara, Lord Siva, is predominant.

He is the incarnation of the Supreme Lord in charge of the modes of ignorance in the universe.

 Among the demigods Kubera is the chief treasurer, and he is a representation of the Supreme Lord.

Meru is a mountain famed for its rich natural resources.

Lord Krishna reveals of the 11 Rudras or expansions of destruction, His vibhuthi or divine, transcendental opulence is Sankara a name for Shiva and of the 8 Vasus His vibhuthi is Pavaka which is Agni the fire-god.

Among the 11 Rudras or demigods of destruction, Lord Krishna's vibhuthi or divine, transcendental opulence is Sankara which is synonymous with Shiva.

Of the Yakshas and Rakshasas, His vibhuthi is Kubera the lord of wealth and treasurer of the demigods and of the 8 Vasus, His vibhuthi is Pavaka the firegod Agni

 Of the 11 Rudras the vibhuti or divine, transcendental opulence of the Supreme Lord Krishna is Sankara which is synonymous with Shiva as given in Mahabharatam.

Although His vibhuthi Kubera, the  lord of wealth being the treasurer of the demigods is a Yakshas and not a demonic Rakshasas they are included together because in regard to cruelty they are both alike.

Among the eight Vasus His vibhuthi is Pavaka the fire-god known as Agni.

Of lofty mountains possessing peaks His vibhuthi Mt. Sumeru ( Meru mountain ).

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …