Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-6. Slo-8.

( Very important slokam )

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-6.( Dhyana-yogam )

Slokam-8. (Who is 'Yogarudan'? What are his identifications? Sri Krishna narrates to Arjuna! )

jnanavijnanatruptatma   koodastho   vijitendriyah,

yukta   iti-ucyate   yogi   samaloshtasmakaanjanah.

jnana-vijnana-truptatma   =   One who is fully qualified /satisfied with 'jnanam, vijnanam',

koodastho   =   Not shaky, strongly placed;

vijitendryah   =   conquered all 'Indriyas',

samaloshtasmakaanjanah   =   ( One ) who sees,  'Muddy ( clay ) block, Stone, Gold' are equal ( in value ),

yogi  yuktah  iti  uciyate   =   ( This ) Yogi is called as 'Yogarudan'.

Jnana-vijnana-truptatma   :-  The knowledge gained from 'Sastras' { Scriptures ( Veda, Upanishads, and so on ) }  is called 'Jnanam', based on this, the inspirations gained, the experiences felt, in sum, the knowledge attained is known as 'Vijnanam'.
One who has,  both,  Knowledge of Sastras  and Knowledge of Experiences, is called 'Yogarudan'. Such ├Łogi' has the satisfaction of knowing the unknown and experiencing the experience together.

Koodasthah  : - This is another ( similar meaning ) name of Paramatma ( Infinite/Absolute/ Eternal/ Lord/ God/ on) .  [ Koodavat  Tisttati  ) meaning - Unmoving, and unchanging like an  "Iron block." ( on which the hot metal is placed and hammered ) . We have seen  ( huge/big )  iron block  , in the workshop of a Black-smith, on which the hot iron parts kept and make them the required shapes and forms by hammering on it. Here the hot metal parts gets changed into new forms, where as the block remains there  unmoving and unchanging.  Just like Koodam (=) the iron block, without undergoing any change on self, allow others to change, because of this,  the  adjective "koodsthan"  to Paramatma is appropriate. Hence one who have the so called Paramatma -tattvam -sakshatkaram , that yogi too is called "Koodasthan".

Samaloshtasmakaanjanah  : - Sarvvam ( all ) Brahmam-mayam ( only Brahmam, nothing else ), one who have this experience, in his drushti ( sight ) muddy ( clay ) block, stone, gold are similar ( he sees no difference ),  the ( balanced minded ) Yogi has no thought of the( costless or costly ) (low or high values added by the human) difference among those things.

Suppose  a  poor man dreams to be a rich, and enjoys the pleasures of a rich, in his dream, suddenly wakes up, ... now when we are awake, our hunger, is not at all fulfilled by a feast of our dream. Huge bank balance of the dream, does not remove the poverty.  Enlightened yogi values the material things as an awakened man values his things of the dream. This yogi who is in the divine world, has no interest in takingin or omitting it.

In slokam-9. Lord add few more details ( lakshanam ) of Yogarudan.

To be continued  .....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…