Gita : Ch-6. Slo-10.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-6. ( Dhyana-yogam )

Slokam-10. (  Yogi should always try to concentrate his mind on the Supreme Self; he should live alone in a secluded place and should always carefully control his mind. He should be free from desires and feelings of possessiveness. )

yogi   yunjīta   satatam    atmanam    rahasi    sthitah,

ekaki   yatacittatma     nirasir    aparigrahah.

yogi    rahasi   =   yogi    in    isolated    place;

ekaki     sthitah  =  sitting    alone;

yata-cittatma   =  controlling   inner   and   outer   agitations;

nirasih   =   not    having    desires   to   any   object    which   is   not   for   him;

aparigrahah   =   free   from   the feeling   of    possessiveness;

satatam   =   always;

atmanam    yunjita   =   keep    the    mind    in   full   concentration    in    paramatma

Lord Krishna is stating that a yogi or one who is perfecting the science of the individual consciousness attaining the ultimate consciousness in this case is by meditation. Satatam means constant, fixed in a daily routine. Yunjita atmanam means attentively concentrating on the soul. Rahasi means in a solitary location away from people. Ekaki means alone by oneself. The compound word yata-cittatma means checking the capricious stream of thoughts that cascade in the mind. Nirasir means to be weaned from every impetus except the impetus for atma tattva or realisation of the soul. Aparigrahah means being devoid of every single possession and conception of possession except the atma or soul.

Here Lord Krishna speaks on the process of equanimity. The word yunjitah means concentrated in meditation and denotes that one should focus the mind on the soul by use of the word atmanam which can refer to the mind as well as the soul.

Having thus stated the characteristics of one who has attained yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness, Lord Krishna deigns to describe the different components of such yoga by referring to the yogi or one in the process of perfecting yoga and declaring that the best yogi resides alone in a solitary place, devoid of desires, with all mind fluctuations subdued immersed in meditation on the atma or soul.


Such are the characteristics of a person situated in yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness. Now Lord Krishna presents the process by which such yoga is practised. The yogi is one perfecting yoga who has complete control over their mind and senses and is free from desire engaged in meditation in order to attain atma tattva or realisation of the soul. The word ekaki means alone and the word rahasi means solitary place. One should perform this yoga in seclusion by oneself in mountain caves or forest bowers that are not inhabited by others.

To be continued  ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.