Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-6. Slo-27.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-6. ( Dhyana-yogam )

Slokam-27. (  The  benefit   gained   by   fixing   the   mind   in   Atmasvarupam  ( Supreme   Consciousness )  is expressed   by   Lord  Krishna   here...)

prasantamanasam    hyenam    yoginam      sukhamuttamam,

upaiti     santarajasam     brahma-bhutamakalmasham.

santa-rajasam   =   the  polluting    garbages,   the   rajo-guna    totally    removed  (pacified    passion);

prasanta-manasam   =   and    thereafter    made    the   mind    bright, clear, and  pure   (   fixed   the   mind   upon    Supreme   Lord );

akalmasham   =   further    all    vasanas    completely   exhausted   (   freed   from    all   past    sinful    actions );

brahma-bhutam   =   liberated,   by   the   identification    with   the    Absolute/Lord;

enam    yoginam   =   this    yogi;

uttamam     sukham     upaiti   =   attains    the    highest    happiness.  

Lord Krishna states brahma-bhutam which means endowed with the realisation of the Brahman or spiritual substratum pervading all existence.

To the person who again and again brings their mind under control by the process of withdrawal from all external designations the bliss of yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness manifests as soon as all remnants of rajas of passion have been eliminated. So Lord Krishna is declaring that for this superior yoga for whom rajas is no longer an influence and whose mind is completely tranquil and content. To this peerless yogi who has achieved atma tattva or realisation of the soul, it is without a doubt that the supreme bliss comes of its own accord and the ultimate consciousness is attained.

After the yogi or one perfecting the science of the individual consciousness with the ultimate consciousness has withdrawn the mind from sense objects and secured it in the atma; then the mind becoming utterly serene achieves the supreme bliss that is sublime as a matter of course. Lord Krishna speaks of two alternatives: one is santa-rajasam or free from passion and the second is akalmasam or free from the blemishes of desire in other words sinless. Such a person is brahma-bhutam or endowed with the realisation of the Brahman or the spiritual substratum pervading all existence.

A peaceful mind means a mind immovably situated in constant mediation on the atma or soul. Once this is accomplished it is quite natural that the yogi or one perfecting the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness by dhyana or meditation soon has all blemishes and sins completely purged. The words santa-rajasam means the quality of rajas or passion has become santa or peaceful. Hence one becomes imbued with the qualities of the Brahmam or spiritual substratum pervading all existence and which also refers to the atma and re- establishs one into their true essence of spiritual splendour. To such a yogi comes atma tattva or realisation of the soul and exquisite and phenomenal transcendental felicity. The word used by Lord Krishna hi meaning verily, is an indeclinable particle which gives a reason denoting that by the reason of atma tattva being essentially blissful the yogi becomes blissful as well.

To be continued   ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …