Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-12. Slo-9.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-12. ( Bhakti-yogam )
Slokam,-9. (  Arjuna,  if you cannot fix your mind upon Me without deviation, then follow the regulated principles of bhakti-yogam, In this way you will develop a desire to attain to Me. )

atha  cittam  samadhatum  na  saknoshi  mayi  sthiram,

abhyasayogena   tatah  mamicchaptum  dhananjaya.

dhananjaya  =  hey  Arjuna!
atha  sthiram  samadhatum  =  hereafter,  permanaently  holding;
cittam   mayi  =  your  cittam  ( mind )  unto  ME;
na  saknoshi  =  if  you  are  not  capable;
tatah  abhyasayogena  =  then,  with  the  help  of  yogam  of  practice;
mam  aptum  icch  =  hence,  you  have  a  will  ( desire)  to  attain  Me.

If one is unable to focus their mind steadily on the Supreme Lord Krishna without distraction and interruption then one should continuously endeavour to perform abhyasa yoga which is repeatedly fixing the mind on the Supreme Lord while simultaneously restraining oneself from all worldly affairs.

Reflecting on Lord Krishna being the quintessence of all wonderful qualities and exalted attributes such as love, beauty, compassion, sweetness, wisdom, majesty, courage, valour, etc. while realising that He alone is the Supreme Lord of the spiritual kingdom and the material worlds being the ultimate source and the ultimate goal of all things at the same time being the antithesis and antidote of all that is demoniac and unrighteous.

True endeavour for the Supreme Lord is bhakti or exclusive loving devotion to Lord Krishna.
By remembering and meditating constantly on Him in this way, steadiness and equanimity of mind is achieved and one will directly realise themselves how to attain Him.

If one is however unable to focus their consciousness on the Supreme Lord Krishna in unmotivated devotion in a steady manner then there is an easier method to reach Him and that is to gently bring the distracted mind back to focus on Lord Krishna everytime it seeks to wander and roam towards other objects and ideas.

Again and again continuously one must seek and strive to attain Him through this yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness by constantly attempting to remember of the Supreme Lord.

Now Lord Krishna presents an alternative method for those who have not the equanimity of mind to continuously think of Him without distraction.

He instructs to strive to remember Him while restraining the mind from pursuing worldly affairs through repeated practice of meditating on His divine glories such as His infinite beauty, sweetness, power, compassion etc. or by chanting His holy names with affection and blissfully singing hymns to His glories.

The particle atha meaning and if emphasises there is another option.
To be continued  ....



Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …