Gita : Ch-9. Slo-33.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-9. ( Raja-vidya-raja-guhya-yogam )

Slokam-33. (   How much greater then are the brahmanas, the righteous, the devotees and saintly kings who in this temporary miserable world engage in loving service unto Me. )

Kim   punarbrahmanah   punyah  bhakta   rajarshayastatha,

Anityamasukham   lokam  imam   prapya   bhajasva  mam.

Punyah  brahmanah  =  the  punya-atma-s, ( righteous )  brahnana-s;

Tathan  bhaktah  rajarshayah  =  also   devotees   and   saintly  kings;

Punah  kim  =  then  again  need  to  tell  ( about );

Anityam  asukham  =  temporary  and  sorrowful;

Imam  lokam  prapya  =  because  of  the  birth  in  this  world;

Mam  bhajasvah  =  worship  Me.

In this material world there are classifications of people, but, after all, this world is not a happy place for anyone.

It is clearly stated here, anityam asukhaṁ lokam : -

this world is temporary and full of miseries, not habitable for any sane gentleman.

This world is declared by the Supreme Personality of Godhead to be temporary and full of miseries.

Some of the philosophers, especially the minor philosophers, say that this world is false, but we can understand from Bhagavad-gita that the world is not false; it is temporary.

There is a difference between temporary and false.

This world is temporary, but there is another world which is eternal. This world is miserable, but the other world is eternal and blissful.

Arjuna was born in a saintly royal family.

To him also the Lord says, "Take to My devotional service and come quickly back to Godhead, back home."

No one should remain in this temporary world, full as it is with miseries.

Everyone should attach himself to the bosom of the Supreme Personality of Godhead so that he can be eternally happy.

The devotional service of the Supreme Lord is the only process by which all problems of all classes of men can be solved.

Everyone should therefore take to Krishna consciousness and make his life perfect.

By putting full trust and faith in the Supreme Lord Krishna under the guidance of a bonfide spiritual preceptor in authorised disciplic succession from one of the four channels of spiritual empowerment even the lowest born mleechas or meateater who are lower then untouchables, who are lower then sudras the servant class who are lower than vaisyas the business class, who are lower then women all can qualify themselves to attain the supreme destination of the eternal spiritual worlds and eternal association with the Supreme Lord. 

If such is so then Brahmins and Vaisnavas as well as royal sages and kings who are devoted to serving Lord Krishna with love attaining this blessed state need not ever by questioned. 

The word asukham meaning miserable is used to remind one that human life is stricken with the irrevocable three fold afflictions of old age, disease and death applicable to everyone. 

Also everyone is forced to suffer from afflictions self caused, afflictions from interacting in the world and from afflictions manifesting from beyond this world. 

Thus since all humans are existing in this world and are sentient beings endowed by Lord Krishna with an atma or eternal soul to attain this blessed supreme destination, then without question all human beings should fully worship and propitiate Lord Krishna.

After having explained the position of the lowly and unfortuante Lord Krishna follows the line of thought of how much more assured is the supreme destination attainable by the higher members of society like the Brahmins and Vaisnavas who are noble and righteous. 

If those of low birth and demerits can attain the supreme destination then how much more can those of high birth and much merit including the royal sages who are the best of the ksatriyas or warrior class as well as the seekers of truth. 

This goes without question. 

Therefore it has been clearly and irrrefutably established that bhakti or loving devotion to Lord Krishna is only means to rehabilitate a fallen human being and the only absolute way to accomplish the attainment of the supreme destination of the eternal spiritual worlds in association with the Supreme Lord. 

Until having attained this the spiritually intelligent should renounce all temporary and transient illusions of happiness in this asukham or miserable world we live in. Why is this world miserable? 

It is because we are bound to the three fold miseries of old age, disease and death. 

The only escape from this misery is taking complete refuge of Lord Krishna under the guidance of the bonafide spiritual preceptor from one of the four authorised channels of disciplic succession as revealed in Vedic scriptures. 

Worshipping and propitiating only Him each and everyday of one's life and succeed to the Supreme destination without hindrance. 

Otherwise the blessing of birth in a high family, meritorious deeds, education etc. serve absolutely no purpose if they are not used in the loving service of the Supreme Lord.

When it known that even the lowest born who surrender wholly to Lord Krishna are completely redeemed and attain the Supreme Lord by bhakti or loving devotion then it is crystal clear that those devotees of Lord Krishna of noble birth and righteous conduct without question attain the supreme destination of eternal association with Him in the spiritual worlds. 

Brahmins and Vaisnavas who constantly perform bhakti to Lord Krishna or any of His authorised incarnations and expansions, ksatriyas or the royal ruling and warrior class who are also sages as well as kings also can attain the Supreme destination. 

Therefore having been blessed to receive a human body use this opportunity fully to acccept a bonafide spiritual preceptor in authorised disciplic succession and propitiate Lord Krishna with loving devotion without delay. 

Having taking birth in this temporary, impermanent, transient and ephemeral material existence one should utilise their time wisely, efficiently evolving themselves with spiritual knowledge under the guidance of a bonafide spiritual preceptor engaging in Krishna bhakti.
To  be  continued  .....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.