Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-8.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi -yogam )

Slokam-8. ( I am the source of all spiritual and material worlds. Everything emanates from Me. The wise who know this perfectly engage in My devotional service and worship Me with all their hearts.)

aham   sarvasya   prabhavah  mattah   sarvam   pravartate,

iti  matva   bhajante   mam  budha   bhavasamanvitah.

aham   sarvasya  =  I  (am)  of  all;

prabhavah  =   source  of  origin / generation / manifestation;

sarvam  mattah  =  everything  are  from  Me;

pravartate  =  emanates /  germinates/ born / created;

iti  matva  budha   =  knowing  about  all  these,  as  such,  learned / scholar / wise / intelligent  people;

bhava-samanvitah  =  with  greatest  devotion / attention /sraddha;

mam  bhajante  =  becomes  devoted  unto  Me.

Lord Krishna expresses the immense devotion the great illuminated beings who matva or have realised His Supreme Absolute position and incomparable glories as the Ultimate Reality, the Ultimate Truth and the Ultimate Personality controlling all beings in all existences.

He the sole object to be known and the goal o all knowledge.

He is recognisable through external identifying manifestations such as the cause of creation, the origin of all living entities , the source of all existence etc.

He is the prime cause of all created beings and all things sentient and insentient, movable and immovable.

He also monitors the ascent and descent of all beings through higher and lower planetary species and up and down into higher and lower species of life including their internal growth and evolution.

Everything is manifested, energised and activated because of Lord Krishna's desire alone and the spiritually intelligent realising this continuously worship Him fully with devotion and love.

.Thorough and complete knowledge of the Supreme Lord Krishna's absolute power and glory bequeaths direct realisation of Him in their etheric heart.

This is being expounded on in this slokam and the next three.

Lord Krishna begins with the words aham sarvasya prabhavo meaning He is the Supreme Ultimate Truth and the cause of all causes.

By His vibhutis or transcendental opulence everything in the material manifestation emanated solely from Him. So spiritually intelligent beings endowed with the germinating seed of bhakti or loving devotion, worship Lord Krishna incessantly with mind, heart and actions.

Lord Krishna uses the word matva meaning realisation of His Supreme Absolute position inspires one to perform bhajante mam or perform loving devotion unto Him.

This clears up any and all misconceptions regarding the presence of individuality with the Supreme Lord.

 This confirms that Lord Krishna is the generating cause and origin of the all the wonderfully, marvellous and fascinatingly phenomenal displays of activity found abounding in all creation comprised of intelligent and non- intelligent beings and objects.

He alone energises all of creation and manifests the impulses required for all actions.

The spiritually intelligent are the mahatmanas or great illuminated beings who matva or realise His Supreme Absolute position as the ultimate controller of all existence.

Who possesses all illustrious attributes such as compassion, affection, reciprocity, friendship, etc.

These great beings are bhava- samanvitah or endowed with a wonderful way of serving Lord Krishna in bhakti or exclusive loving devotion according to their internal mood.

The spiritually intelligent cultivate their minds in such a way as to acquire this mood and deeply immerse themselves in it.

How this is accomplished Lord Krishna reveals next.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …