Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-9.

Very Important Slokam, keep  in mind.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam )

Slokam-9. ( The thoughts of My pure devotees dwell in Me, their lives are surrendered to Me, and they derive great satisfaction and bliss enlightening one another and conversing about Me.)

maccitta   madgatapranah   bodhayantah   parasparam,

kathayantasca   mam   nityam  tushyanti   ca   ramanti   ca.

 maccittah  =  mind  fully  engaged  in  Me;

madgata  pranah  =  attaching  all  prana-s  with  Me  (  submitting  all  activities  of  Indriya-s );

parasparam  mam  =  mutually ( among  themselves / yourselves )  about  Me;

bodhayantah  =  keep  conscious;

kathayantah  ca  =  keep  talking  the  glories;

nityam  tushyanti   ca  =  ( they )  always  happily;

ramanti   ca  =  also  enjoy transcendental bliss.

Here Lord Krishna elaborates on the great souls method of worship with the words mac-citta or their minds dedicated to Him and mad-gata-prana or their life airs surrendered fully to Him inferring also the presiding demigods and their function over their respective sense organs such as ear and eye, etc.

This denotes using the eyes to see the Supreme Lord, using the ear to hear His praises, using the tongue to chant His glories, etc. all for propitiating Him as the goal.

Enlightening one another about their realisations about Him, exchanging ecstasies with each other about their realisations and experiences with Him.

Also discoursing with the appropriates logical and introspective reasoning propounded in the Vedic scriptures and the commentaries of the previous acarya's in disciple succession about Lord Krishna's supreme absolute position as the sole cause, maintainer and sustain of all creation.

Of one mind and heart discussing His transcendental qualities and attributes they grow in true friendship and admiration for each other relating whatever knowledge they have of Him, great or small it is all mutually relished whether they speak of His virtues, His mercy, His avatars or incarnations or His phenomenal extraordinary lila's or divine pastimes or just by hearing about them.

From both a wonderful feeling of indescribable contentment arises and they become completely satisfied within.

The words mac-citta means those who devote their hearts on Lord Krishna.

The words mad-gata-prana means those whose lives cannot exist without Lord Krishna.

Such great beings constantly enlighten each other about His transcendental attributes and extraordinary lila's or divine pastimes and exchange bliss by relating the realisations they have experienced from such.

The sense of satisfaction from the mere conversation about Lord Krishna makes them so blissful that there contentment is permanent and needs nothing else to complete it.

Furthermore simply hearing about Lord Krishna's lila's causes these devotees to become ecstatic, exhibiting a rapturous and exultant glow of love.

The worship being explained here is bhakti or exclusive loving devotion.

The words mac-citta means those who hearts are dedicated unto the Supreme Lord alone. Whose mind and senses are also totally directed to Him solely.

The word mad-gatah-pranah means those who have dedicated their lives to the Supreme Lord Krishna.

Such spiritually intelligent beings reflect upon His phenomenal glories, incessantly relishing His lilas or divine pastimes and enlightening each other of their reflections and experiences in their internal mood of loving devotion to Him and enjoy sublime, transcendental bliss.

The words mad-gata-prana means that one surrenders their very life to Lord Krishna, meaning that all their thoughts and actions are directed for His satisfaction exclusively.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …