Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-9. Slo-26.

Very Important Slokam  easy to understand.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-9 ( Rajavidya Rajaguhya Yogam)


Patram  pushpam  phalam  toyam  yo  me  bhaktiya  prayachati

Tataham  bhaktiyupahrutam  asnami  prayatatmanah.

Patram Pushpam Phalam Toyam = Leaf or Flower or Fruit or Water ( anything),

Yah Me = who offers me,

Bhaktiya Prayachati = Dedicates/Submits with devotion/love,

Prayayatmanah Tat = Pure minded, his,

Bhaktiyupahrutam = Dedicated (with devotion) offer,

Aham Asnami = I accept.

Lord Sri Krishna to Arjuna narrates 'worship.' :- Explanation below—

There is no religion in the world, which does not encourage and accept offers from the devotees.

Now a question arises among people ( though modern educated with ignorance about our Spiritual part and misunderstandings) :-

The Supreme Lord has no name and form, Omnipresent and Omnipotent, then where the need of a Temple or Church or Mosque and so on----as his place of Residence?

Secondly The Supreme Lord created everything then why he needs offers, such as oil, candles for lighting from the devotees?

But I am talking to the world, which still holds Dharma (Truth).

For the society which has few healthy minded and alert intelligence people, the importance of place of worship (temple, church, mosque----) is sure.

These places :- their style of construction or diversity in worshipping methods or spending or count of number of devotees is not reasons of their existence/success.

Not the cost of offers or diversity in offers is important.

The Bhavana (Purity of Mind) and love (devotion) towards Lord is valued behind such offers by Eswaran /Supreme Lord.

This Tatvam (principle) is beautifully brought out in this slokam by Lord Sri Krishna.

Some offer simple things such as leaf, flower, fruit, and water.

Others a Golden temple.

Lord Krishna says, whatever it is, who offers with Prema bhavam ( love/devotion), this becomes supreme to him( Lord).

When the devotee offers with pure mind there is no way to Him except accepting that.

All religions place importance on the Tatvam (Principle/Essence) of personal sacrifice.

This is reflected in this slokam.

The Pancha budham ( five elements such as Akasam/Space, Vayu/air, Agni/fire, Jalam/water, Bhumi/earth and everything( prakruthi) including Jeevatma are owned by the Supreme Lord and in him all are existing.

It is foolish thing that you mean your sacrifice in your offer, this thought is itself reminds your Ego, and Lord Rejects your offer.

In all temples Nevadiyam is the main practice observed.

When a flower or fruit is offered to Bhagawan/lord, if a devotee thinks that he is sacrificing it, then that karma (action) lost all its Value.

The flower has the the place of a spoon in realty.

When we eat we take spoon several times to our mouth, but once our eating ends the spoon remains there as it was earlier.

Flower whether in garden or temple are equally same.

It is the medium (devotees with love and pure mind) which The Supreme Lord Wants.

This Tatvam is brilliantly explained by Lord Sri Krishna in this slokam.

Therefore, If Lord’s Nivediyam becomes true; there are two things to be followed.

1. Dedicate/submit with love/devotion, and 2. Pure mind.

When these two are neglected, that much all offers are reduced to Superstitious and useless wastage.

Finally Lord wants the devotee to remember his root/route:

1. Water = his stay in mother’s womb ( Balyam)

2. Leaf= his child hood ( koumaram)

3. Flower = his youth ( yowanam)

4. Fruit = his old age ( vardhakyam).

To be continued   ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…