Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-9. Slo-24.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-9. ( Raja-vidya-raja-guhya-yogam)

Slokam-24. (  I am the only enjoyer and the only object of sacrifice. Those who do not recognize My true transcendental nature fall down.)

aham  hi  sarvayajnanam   bhokta  ca  prabhureva  ca,

na  tu  mamabhijananti  tattvenatascyavanti  te.

hi  aham  eva  =  why  because ( surely/certainly ),  I  am  only;

sarva-yajnanam  =  of  all  yajna-s;

bhokta  ca  prabhuh  ca  =   Lord  and  enjoyer ( taking  in );

tu  te  mam  tattvena  =  but  they  in  reality  Me;

na  abhijananti  =  do not  know  ( Me in  real tattvam);

atah  cyavanti  =  therefore,  slip  and  fall  down  and  bewilder  in  the  'samsaram.'

Now Lord Krishna explains the maximum rewards the worshippers of the demigods get and why it is avidi-puvakam or not in accordance with the ordinances of the Vedic scriptures.

As the Supreme Lord is paramatma or the Supreme Soul within all the demigods and all living entities as well it is He who is the direct recipient of all the offerings and worship to them.

 He alone solely bestows the rewards of propitiation and worship back down through the demigods to which it was offered who after taking their share offer it to their votaries.

Those who are motivated by selfish desires are devoid of bhakti or loving devotional service and have no possibility of knowing the Supreme Lord.

For their efforts the worshippers of the demigods eventually ascend to the heavenly planets where at the exhaustion of their merit they fall back down to the worlds of mortals by the descending path of dhumah or smoke as directed by a demigod from Pitriloka the realm of the forefathers.

But those who worship the Supreme Lord Krishna or any of His authorised incarnations and expansions as revealed in Vedic scriptures never return to material existence and the world of mortals.

As all the demigods verily comprise the transcendental body of the Supreme Lord Krishna then it is natural that He is the enjoyer of everything offered to them being the sole lord of all worship and propitiation and the ultimate bestower of all rewards.

The worshippers of the demigods are ignorant of these facts and hence they are na tu mam abhijanam meaning unable to know Him the Supreme Lord thus they fall back into mortal existence and are subject to birth, old age, disease and death. But those who recognise the Supreme Lord as the inner ruler within all the demigods and worship Him do not return to mortal existence

Although the Supreme Lord Krishna is the object of all propitiation and worship there is no relation or reciprocation by Him if it is not within the parampara or authorised disciplic succession performed according to the prescribed injunctions of the Vedic scriptures.

Lord Krishna speaks the words prabhur eva ca meaning that He alone is the sole bestower of rewards in every respect.

Amazingly fascinating it is that humans who engage in the very selfsame activities of propitiation and worship are differentiated and classified by the simple difference of the intention and motive by which it was performed. Some performers of activities merit paltry, minimal results such as reaching the heavenly planets and when there allotment of time there has expired they have to start all over again.

While other performers of the same activities merit unlimited and transcendental eternal results such as atma tattva or realisation of the soul and never lose it ever as they attain moksa or liberation from material existence.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …