Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-8. Slo-27.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-8. ( Akshara-brahma-yogam )

Slokam-27 (  The devotees who know these two paths, O Arjuna, are never bewildered. Therefore be always fixed in devotion.)

naite   srti   partha   janan    yogi    muhyati    kascana,

tasmat    sarveshu    kaleshu     yogayukto   bhavarjuna.

 partha   ete   srti    janan   =   arjuna!   who   knows   these  two  paths;

kascana   yogi   na   muhyati   =   one   yogi  too  never   involve   in   vyamoham;

tasmat   arjuna!   =   therefore   arjuna;

sarveshu    kaleshu   =   at   all   times;

yogayuktah   bhava   =   keep   your   cittam   in   Parmatma.

Lord Krishna declares that knowing the archi-adi the path of light which leads to moksa or liberation from material existence and the path of darkness which leads to bondage in the material existence there will never be any infatuation and delusion at the time of death for a yogi or one perfecting the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness.

Such a yogi will travel by their own self earned divine path escorted by the presiding demigods of the path of light.

Thus one should with great faith and enthusiasm meditate on and perform selfless Vedic activities without desire that keeps one firmly upon this path.

Daily meditation constitutes the proper performance of one's daily activities as authorised by the bonafide spiritual master either Vaisnava or Brahmana from one of the four bonafide sampradayas as revealed in Vedic scriptures.

By explaining the result of knowledge regarding the path of light which leads to moksa or liberation and the path of darkness which leads to samsara or the perpetual cycle of birth and death, this subject is being concluded by Lord Krishna.

The yogi or one perfecting the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness, who understands the reality of these two paths is never deluded by maya or illusory impressions superimposed upon the mind.

This means such a yogi never deviating from their devotion to the Supreme Lord does not hanker or even consider pleasures in this world or heaven or anything in all creation that is not for the sole satisfaction of the Supreme Lord.

Such a yogi is devoted to the Supreme Lord and nothing else.

The result of comprehending the two routes :-

1. both the path of light which gives moksa or liberation from material existence and 2. the path of darkness which gives bondage to the material existence is that the yogi or one perfecting the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness, whether a jnani devoted to spiritual knowledge of the Supreme or a jijnasuh devoted to meditation on the atma or soul.

Both becomes firmly established in equanimity and are never again deluded by maya or illusory impressions superimposed upon the mind.

In other words they are clear as to what is to be done and what is not to be done in able to say continuously focused on the Supreme Lord.

Such a yogi performs no actions with a desire to attain any rewards on Earth or even to reach the heavenly spheres by which desiring one is guaranteed rebirth again from another womb.

Therefore the conclusion is to remain always attentive and established in yoga and traverse forever this ever changing, precarious material existence.

Krishna is here advising Arjuna that he should not be disturbed by the different paths the soul can take when leaving the material world.

A devotee of the Supreme Lord should not worry whether he will depart either by arrangement or by accident.

The devotee should be firmly established in Krishna consciousness and chant Hare Krishna.

He should know that concern over either of these two paths is troublesome.

The best way to be absorbed in Krishna consciousness is to be always dovetailed in His service, and this will make one's path to the spiritual kingdom safe, certain, and direct.

The word yoga-yukta is especially significant in this slokam.

One who is firm in yoga is constantly engaged in Krishna consciousness in all his activities.

Rishi-s advises that one should be unattached in the material world and that all affairs should be steeped in Krishna consciousness.

In this way one attains perfection.

Therefore the devotee is not disturbed by these descriptions because he knows that his passage to the supreme abode is guaranteed by devotional service.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…