Gita : Ch-8. Slo-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-8. ( Akshara-brahma-yogam )

Slokam-10. (  One who, at the time of death, fixes his life air between the eyebrows and in full devotion engages himself in remembering the Supreme Lord, will certainly attain to the Supreme Personality of Godhead.)

praynnakale    manasacalena  

bhaktya    yukto    yogabalena    caiva

bhruvormadhye    pranamavesya    samyak  

sa    tam    param    purushamupaiti   divyam.

praynnakale    ca   =   at   the time   of   death;

bhaktya    yuktah   =   engaged   in    full    devotion;

yogabalena   =   due   to   the   result   of   practicing   sadhana    ( by    the    power   of    mystic   yoga );

acalena    manasa   =   with   the   help   of   steady   concentrating   mind  (  without   being    deviated   mind );

pranam   bhruvoah   madhye   =   prana   ( the life  air,  )   in  between   the two   eyebrows;

samyak   avesya   =   kept   as   required;

yah    param   purusham   anusmaret   =   who   meditate   upon   the   Supreme   Lord;

sah   tam   divyam   =   he   that   form   of   illumination;

param   purusham   eva   =   that   is   the  God head;

upaiti    =   attains.

The performance of beneficial activities at the time of death by those whose state of equanimity has achieved mastery of the life force and are able to direct it to the ajna cakra or the space between the eyebrows etc. is spoken now by Lord Krishna.

Yet even for those who are bereft of mastery over the life force, true moksa or liberation from the cycle of birth and death comes about only through buddhi or spiritual intelligence, bhakti or loving devotion and vairagya or renunciation.

So even in the absence of complete mastery on the strength of possessing equanimity from possessing buddhi, bhakti and vairagya liberation will be attained especially for the adepts.

In the Bhagavat Purana it is stated: Relishing the nectarian lilas or divine pastimes of the Supreme Lord, prompted by loving devotion to Him, those who are pure in heart have gained the wisdom of spiritual intelligence as a result of renunciation and also have attained the Supreme Lord, Himself in Vaikuntha, the eternal spiritual worlds.

While others have through equanimity of mind succeeded with great effort in conquering the powerful impulses of material nature; those endowed with spiritual intelligence worship the Supreme Lord exclusively achieve dominance over material nature without any effort.

The Moksa Dharma states: Those exalted beings who take exclusive shelter of the Supreme Lord, propitiating Him exclusively with fixed single minded attention attain Him, which far superior to any other endeavour.

The Vyasa Yoga states: Through spiritual intelligence, loving devotion and renunciation moksa or liberation from the cycle of birth and death is assuredly available; but for those possessing equanimity of mind, moksa is expeditiously so.

One becoming full fledged in the power of yoga or the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness in the form of concentration and meditation, possessing unending devotion, who at the time of death directs the life force through the sushana channel in the spinal cord and fixes it at the ajna chakra between the eyebrows, meditating with steadfast mind on the Supreme Lord Krishna most assuredly attains Him.

One who is endowed with bhakti or loving devotion meditates with a steady mind on the Supreme Being. The reason for such sublime steadiness Lord Krishna is also stating that one having developed the power of yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness; and possessing the ability to raise the life force directly through the Sushumna channel fixing it between the eyebrows at the ajna-cakra or third eye a person attains the effulgently, resplendent Supreme Lord of all.

Whosoever has there mind situated in equanimity, made steady and firm by daily practicing devotional mediation unto the Supreme Lord.

 At the time of death is able to direct the life force through the Sushanna channel and fix it at the ajna cakra betwwen the eyebrows and focuses upon the Supreme Lord Krishna intently without deviation or diversion by the power of their meditation they achieve communion with the Supreme Lord Himself and attain His association in the eternal spiritual worlds.

The next slokam will describe the mode of meditation most suitable for the aspirant of moksa or liberation from material bondage.

To be continued ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.