Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-4. Slo-24.

(Very Important Slokam)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter -4. (Jnana-karma-sanyasa-yogam ),

Slokam- 24. { Jeevan-muktan ( one who is free from all worldly connections/relationships/desires/duality/ and ever remain in Brahmam), attains the Infinite, Eternal, Consciousness i.e GOD ( by freeing himdelf from the grip of world ), Why so? --This slokam gives the answer :-

brapmarppanam brapmahavih brapmaagnou brapmana hutam,

brapmaiva tena gantavyam brapma-karma-samadhina.

Arppanam brapma = The arppanam ( Aahuti) in yjnam is brapmam,

Havih brapma = Haviss (too brapmam),

Brapmaagnou = In the agni ( fire ) ( which is also brapmam),

Brapmanahutam = The doer of the homam is also brapmam ( homam is done by brapmam ),

Brapmakarmasamaadhina = One who see the karmam as brapmam,

Tena = By brapmakarttha ( who is Brapmasvaroopam ),

Brapma eva santavyam = The sthanam ( goal/place ) attained is too brapmam only.

This is the famous slokam chanted as prayer before takingin food by Bharatheeya people in the ancient days of Bharatham. But among those, ( chanting people ), ninety percent are 1. not known the meaning of slokam or 2. not trying to know this. In reality the full and complete essence of Vedantham is contained in this slokam.

Brapmam ( Brahmam) is the supreme truth which is the true unchanging base behind the ever changing visual prapancham ( the world/ Universe, etc). In that supreme truth when all bodies become active, then that is called as Jeevan. Though that appears to be separate, truly "Jeevan" and "Brapmam" are one only :- This is is emphasised and supported by Vedantham.

The Yjnam, in Veda is here taken as an example. All Yjnam consist of four important components. They are 1. Daiety, 2. Homagni, 3. Homa dravya ( Haviss), 4. Hotav ( the doer of homam ).

Here, the mindset and experience of Jeevan-muktan while in karmam, is explained. As far as Jeevan-muktan is concerned, the mad world/ universe/ on/ is imagination of mind only. Brapmam only is true for him. Therefore all Yjnam begin from Brapmam.*

* Refer chapter- 3, slokam 14 and 15 of Bhagavadgeeta.

Hotav+Haviss+Agni+Devata ( Deity ), all Brapmam only. For example : The waves in the sea, one by one raise up and crash down to the sea, here all waves belong to sea only, sea itself raise above the sea and crash down to the sea again and again, otherwise nothing new happened, this the truth.

In any names and forms, and in any circumstances the one who sees , understands that all matters are Sacchidananda brapmam only. All karmam of that karmayogi due to brapmopasana dissolve in the brapmam itself.

As it is the prayer before the food , the importance of this slokam self understood. To sustain life we need food, any type of food taken in when we are hungry gives fulfillment and satisfaction. Naturally we should not forget the truth, that brapmam is taking in ( eating ) brapmam only. That is, when we eat food, the annam ( food ) which is brapmam, submitted to Jataragni ( digesting agni), for the satisfaction of brapmam, if this bhavana ( idea ) is developed, then that will take us away from worldly connections and uplift to divine aspect.

Bhavana makes all karmam into Yjnam. Lord Krishna brilliantly take us towards the divine aspect in this slokam!!!

Brapmam.* means Brahmam only.

To be continued  ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…