Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-4. Slo-23.

(Very important slokam :)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-4 ( Jnana-karma-sanyasa-yogam).


gatasamgasya    muktasya   jnanavasthitacetasah,

yajnayacaratah   karma   samagram   pravileeyate.

gatasamgasya   =   one  who is detached from everything,

mukatasya   =   relieved from the intimate, emotional relationships ,

jnanavasthitacetasah   =   mind with  complete devotion in thoughts of Atma,

yajnaya   acaratah   =   all karma done in the state of Yajnam

pravileetate   =   ends there.

Here the eligibility required to a Jnani, are narrated in this slokam. The route for the finite, is included in this narration.  In the texts of Atmeeyam( scriptures) the  words used where it is necessary ( controlled and calculated way), this is the natural procedure ( in the scriptures). Using limited words,  meaningful, artistic; in these things, this slokam becomes a top example.

1. Gatasamgah :- One who left 'Samgam' ( attachment ). Ancient Rishies, whose divinity, is not by chance fall on them. This is already existing finite's reproduction only. Because of our attachment to  worldly pleasures, we are fully involved and engaged in it. Where as Jnani ( Scholar who knows Atma ), totally discarded all attachments towards worldly pleasures.

2. Muktah :- Independent. ( Majority seekers have no clear idea of this independence. We are responsible for our attachments, and not others. The strong desire to worldly pleasures, made us get into the bonds, and no freedom from it ever. Jeevatma who thinks that finite is gained from the universal matters, thereafter greedily keep engaged with that. This way, bodily with outer world, and mentally with emotions, and intelligence part is connected with flood of thoughts. )

3. Jnanavasthitacetasah :- Mind is fully and firmly connected to Jnanam ( Knowledge of Atma). Attaining 'Mukta-vasta'( state of independence/ complete freedom), happens when finite detachment is achieved ( when cittam ( thoughts ) is firmly fixed in 'Nityaa-nitya-viveka-Jnanam).

One 'Jeevan-muktan' with his mind firmly fixed in Viveka-jnanam, discarding all attachments, and free from all pleasures, then continues his karma in the form of Yjnam. They never tie him in bonds. No new vasanas possible, they completely self-decayed.

The word 'Yajnam'here, used in the wider sense. All karma done without self-interest/ personal gains,  for the benefit ( for the service ) of the world are called "Yajnam".

Thus Lord Krishna tells to Arjuna : 'In which divine state of mind,  Jnani does his karmam'.

Hereafter 'in the next six slokams Lord tells about twelve types of Yajnas :-

which are,

'for all persons, in all opportunities, in all surroundings to be followed.'  

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-6 & 7. Discussion-3.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Khetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam- 6&7.


Mahabutaniahankarah  bhuddhiraviyaktameva  ca,

Indriyani dasaikam  ca  panchendriyagocarah.

mahabutani  =  five elements ( Akasam, vayu, agni, jalam,  bhumi. );

ahankaram  =  false ego ( A sense of "karthrutva- bhoktyatva-abhimanam" );

bhuddhi  avyaktam  =  intelligence, vasana;

dhasa  indriyani  =  ten  indriyas;

ekam  =  mind;

pancha  indriya  gocarah  =    five indriya vishayas ( objects : form, sound, taste, smell, touch. ), thus, consisting of 24 tattva-s.


iccha  dveshah  sukam  dukham  samkhatascetana  drutih,

etat  kshetram  samasena  savikaramudahrutam.

etat  kshetram  =  this   kshetram   ( our body  );

iccha  dvesham  sukam  dukkam  = desire, hatred, joy and sorrow;

samkhatah  cetana  drutih  =  samkhatam, cetana,  and druti;

savikaram  =  thus 7 emotions;

samasena  udahrutam  =  briefed  to you Arjuna.

Discussion - 3.

The five great …

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Slokams and combined - Discussion-10.


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13.(  ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
Slokam-s. 8 to 12.


amanitvamadambhitvam  ahimsa  kshantirarjavam,

acaryopasanam  saucam   sthairyamatmavinigrahah.

amanitvam  =  humility;

adambhitvam  =  pridelessness;

ahimsa  =  nonviolence;

kshantih  =  tolerance;

arjavam  =  simplicity;

acarya-upasanam  =  approaching a bona fide spiritual master;

saucam  =  cleanliness;

sthairyam  =  steadfastness;

atma-vinigrahah  =  control;


indriyartheshu  vairagyam   anahankara  eva  ca,


indriya-artheshu  =  in the matter of the senses;

vairagyam  =  enunciation;

anahankarah  =  being without false egoism;

eva  =  certainly;

ca  =  also;

janma  =  birth;

mrtyu  =  death;

jara  =  old age;

vyadhi  =  disease;

duhkha  =  distress;

dosha  =  fault;

anudarsanam  =  observing;


asaktiranabhishvangah  putradaragrahadishu,

nityam ca  sama-cittatvam  ishtanishtopapattishu.

 asaktih  =  without attachment;


Gita : Ch-2. Slo-56.

Srimad   Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-56. { One who is not disturbed in spite of the threefold miseries, who is not elated when there is happiness, and who is free from attachment, fear and anger, is called a sage of steady mind.}

Duhkheshvanudvignamanah    sukheshu     vigatasprhah,

Vitaragabhayakrodhah   sthitadhirmunirucyate.

duhkheshu  =  in   sorrows;

anudvignamanah  =   one   who  with  steady  mind ( balanced   mind, unshaken  mind, );

sukheshu  vigatasprhah  =  not  interested  in  happiness ( no desire  for happiness );

vitaragabhayakrodhah  muniah  =    free  from  attachments,  fear,  anger,  ( one  )  the muni (  Jnani  );

sthitadhirmunirucyate  =  is  called  as "Sthitah-prajnan" ( A  person   with  above   qualities ).

The Supreme Lord Krishna continuing the answer to the first question of slokam- 54 states that: He who is unperturbed, who is free from desires though amidst pleasures is not agitated even upon being put into misery because…