Gita : Ch-4. Slo-1.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chaper-4. (Jnana-karma-sanyasa-yogam ),

Slokam-1. ( The chain of Guru Sishya parampara, and transfer of knowledge is explained in this slokam. ) + added to earlier details read both.

( "As far as Bharatheeya ( people of Bharatham ) is concerned, there is no place for novelty in the field of "Adhyatmikam" ( Spirituality ), they ( people ) have no attraction to any thing new, until and unless the novelty gets cleared and approved by the Veda, it is not accepted  as the part of Brahma-vidya, hence it is understood that, our cultural identity is rooted in Veda.This slokam is a starter of this principle, Lord Krishna begins with this slokam as the continuation of previous chapter."

Slokam : 1.

Imam   vivasvate   yogam   proktavan-aham-avyayam,

vivasvan   manave   praaha   manu-ikshakave   abraveet.

avyayam   imam   yogam  =  this un-perishable  yogam,

aham   vivasvate   proktavan  =  I   passed   on  ( gave/transfered this knowledge)  to Suryan ( Sun ),

vivasvan   manave   praaha  =  Sun ( later ) passed on  this knowledge to his son,  Manu,

manu  ikshakave   abraveet  =  Manu in turn to his son Ikshaku. ( thus Jnana-karma-sanyasa-yogam transfered first from Lord to ...).

As already explained, the Sanatana veda's dealings, is put before us in extraordinary way : Lord tells us openly here.  Lord attaches a divine aspect to this. In the beginning of creation itself  taught the secret of Veda to Suryan ( sun),  Suryan, later to his son Manu, thereafter Manu to his son Ikshaku.

The importance of Veda and the  value of its principles many disagree, (especially the modern students), this generation do not accept so,  because of the 1. ignorance, 2. Sanskrit language used ( after independence Bharatham does not give a respectable seat to Sanskrit, instead promoted Hindi), 3. The original scriptures are in Thaliyola ( special dry leaves of  coconut tree, and  species of this family ).
But these scriptures ( the contents ) are most valuable treasure of this country.

The word Veda is derived from its base Vid ( means knowledge ). Vedas express the ways and means to put light on the aspect of hidden inner Divine power and its enlightenment. This aspect will  never perish and ever remain.

Before scientific discovery electricity was present, now if we forget it, this does not mean it will disappear! In this way we may say electricity is Sanatana, likewise, the Divine power within us was present before we came to know about it, hence this is also Sanatana.

Modern Physics believes that the creation started from the Sun. Sun is the major source of energy. Hence Sun becomes No-1, in the creation list, along with Atmajnanam ( Supreme Truth ) for the benefit of the world.

Vedantham or Brahma-vidya was initially transferred to the Kings in the ancient days, this was a strong and firm belief  to our attention. There are mentions in the Upanishads, in many contexts. In ancient Bharatham Maharishis  had special place and role in the kingdoms. Kings consulted on every available important occasions, the Rajagurus ( Maharishis )  in the administration. Hence it was a custom that the transfer Atmajnanm ( Spirituality ) to Kshatriya kings from  Brapmana ( meaning scholar and not present day caste Brahmin's)  Maharishis.

In this ( above ) firm statement, there present a great Point.  The rulers, when is cultured, with superior Divine values, then only, the cultural values re-created. These culture and values can not be taught with Law or  force , Dharmic values can not be implemented by force upon the citizens. By showing examples only this is possible ( the canvassing of values ). Maharishis have the opinion that if the Kings become best role model, the people will follow his model. This way the Dharmic values of the country or the Nation will automatically re-build. This will be possible when the leaders of a Nation live in superior Divine values and remain firm and stable on that. This will create a golden age of that Nation.

Veda tells us Adhyatmeekam ( Spiritual way of living ). This is not used to languages, Subtle experiences could not be expressed in words, because there are no words in any language. Therefore Adhyatmeeka-granths ( scriptures ), is not possible to grasp by self-study, this will end in wrong notions. Hence These texts to be learnt  from Acharyas ( Gurus/ teachers) . In ancient Bharatham Gurukulam system was followed due to this reason.

Now we know the Guru-Sishya transfer of Brahma-Vidya ( knowledge ) : and the the First Guru of the world also ( See Lord Krishna's words in this slokam).

To be continued  ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.