Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-6. Slo-41.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita

Chapter-6. ( Dhyana-yogam)

Slokam-41. (  The unsuccessful yogi, after many, many years of enjoyment on the planets of the pious living entities, is born into a family of righteous people, or into a family of rich aristocracy.)

prapya    punya-krtam    lokan    ushitva    sasvatih    samah,

sucinam     srimatam     gehe    yoga-bhrashtobhijayate.

yoga-bhrashtah   =   one     who    is    fallen    from    the    path    of     self-realization;

punya-krtan    lokan    prapya   =    after    achieving     all     worlds    of     punya  (pious );

sasvatih    samah     ushitva    =    and   enjoying    many    years   there;

sucinam     srimatam     gehe    =    thereafter,    in    the    house    of    rich /prosperous   and    righteous  /pious;

abhijayate    =   takes his birth.

The unsuccessful yogis are divided into two classes: one is fallen after very little progress, and one is fallen after long practice of yoga. The yogi who falls after a short period of practice goes to the higher worlds where pious living entities are allowed to enter. After prolonged life there, he is sent back again to this world, to take birth in the family of a righteous brahmana vaishnava or of aristocratic merchants.

The real purpose of yoga practice is to achieve the highest perfection of  consciousness. But those who do not persevere to such an extent and fail due to material allurements are allowed, by the grace of the Lord, to make full utilization of their material propensities. And after that, they are given opportunities to live prosperous lives in righteous or aristocratic families. Those who are born in such families may take advantage of the facilities and try to elevate themselves to full  consciousness.

Now it may be wondered that if a person who abandons the path of yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness never meets with an evil destiny, then exactly what is the destination of such a person? Lord Krishna answers this by revealing that after death such a person by the power of yoga resides for a long duration of time on the higher planets of the righteous to reap the results which one has merited. After which the results reaped are exhausted, one takes birth in a pious and wealthy family.

So what destination does one obtain who practices yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness but fails to achieve perfection? Lord Krishna confirms that such a one attains the worlds of the righteous where after residing in happiness and peacefulness for a long duration of time one takes birth again in a righteous, virtuous and prosperous family.

Lord Krishna is declaring that whatever desire diverted one from continuing on the path of yoga or the science of the individual consciousness attaining communion with the ultimate consciousness. Such desire will find its fulfilment and be exquisitely enhanced manifold in the delightful spheres of those who performed virtuous deeds. There one enjoys to the utmost limit of their capacity extending over a long duration of time. This all happens by virtue of the yoga one began but was unable to finish. When one's time limit for enjoyment has come to an end one incarnates and takes birth in a pious and wealthy family already practising yoga at the stage where one discontinued in their previous life. To be thus born in such a favourable environment is due to the potency and efficacy of the this yoga which was commenced but not completed.

To be continued ....


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …