Gita : Ch-12. Slo-20. Discussion-1.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-12. ( Bhakti-yogam )

Slokam-20. ( He who follows this imperishable path of devotional service and who completely engages himself with faith, making Me the supreme goal, is very, very dear to Me.)

ye  tu  dharmamrtamidam  yathoktam  paryupasate,

sraddadhana  ma-paramah  bhaktastetiva  me  priyah.

yathoktam  =  as  mentioned  above;

idam  dharmamrtam  =  of  this  sanatana-dharmam;

sraddadhana  =  with  at  most  care  and  faith;

mat-paramah  =  taking  the  Supreme  Lord  as  everything  ( Goal );

ye  tu    paryupasate  =  those  who  are  completely  as  much  as  prcticing  Sadhana  as  per  the  format;

te  bhaktah  =  those  devotees;

me  ativa  priyah  =  For  Me,  (  they  are  )  very  very  dear.


Lord Krishna has categorically presented the essential virtues to be cultivated for His devotee desiring to serve Him with bhakti or exclusive loving devotion. Now He concludes this chapter with the affirmation that bhakti is the paramount path of dharma or eternal righteousness and immortality. Amrtam infers nectar of the gods which leads to immortality.

Those devotees with firm faith whose sins have been eradicated by performing renounced activities for thousands of previous births and who are imbued with the virtues given in the previous seven verses take to the path of bhakti with their minds completely focused upon Lord Krishna as the be all of their existence.

This was alluded to in verse two of this chapter with mayy-avesya mano meaning absorb themselves fully in thoughts of Him and in verse seven mat-parah meaning take full refuge in Him alone. In ye tu meaning and of all those persons the particle tu denotes that this last instruction takes precedence and is superior to all the individual virtues described in the previous seven verses.

Such devotees of His who resolutely follow the righteous and noble path of bhakti are without a doubt the most dear to Him of all.

To be continued ..



Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.