Gita : Ch-2. Slo-68.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-2. ( Samkya-yogam )

Slokam-68. ( Hence   hey   Arjuna,   one   whose    senses    are     completely  withdrawn,    his     intelligence    is    static    and    fixed. )

Tasmadyasya      mahabaho     nigrhitani     sarvasah,

Indriyannindriyarthebhyah    tasya    prajna     pratishthita.

mahabaho!  =   hey  brave   Arjuna!

tasmat  =   therefore;

yasya  indriyanni  =  one whose  sense-organs;

indriyarthebhyah  =   from  sensuous  objects;

sarvasah  =  completely;

nigrhitani  =   withdrawn;

tasya  prajna   pratishthita   =  his,  intelligence  is  static  and  fixed.

Lord Krishna is declaring that only by control of the senses in all respects can wisdom be achieved.

The control of the senses which has been prescribed as the means of acquiring perfect knowledge and spiritual intelligence is being concluded. By addressing Arjuna as O mighty armed one, Lord Krishna is indicating that just as Arjuna exercises control of the enemy in battle; he must likewise exercise control of the senses as well.

By previously establishing the depreciating effects of the senses in affecting the mind and degrading the intellect, Lord Krishna now concludes this topic by explaining that the problem to be addressed is the senses and that one who has the potency to restrain their senses from their sense objects is one who is situated in transcendent meditation.

Therefore in the way that it has been definitively expounded by Lord Krishna, whosoever achieves communion with Him the most exalted reality for meditation will surely in every way have their senses abstracted and completely oblivious to the objects of the senses. Thus so qualified to them will come installation of wisdom and so established they will become fit to attain the eternal soul. The achievement of one who has subjugated their senses and whose mind is situated in sublime serenity is discussed in the next slokam.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.