Gita : Ch-13. Slo-1.Discussion-1.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-1. ( Arjuna  question  to  Lord  Sri  Krishna ) -

 (Arjuna said: O Lord, I wish to know about prakrti [nature], Purusha [the experiencer], and the field and the knower of the field, and of knowledge and the end of knowledge. )

arjuna uvaca,

prakrtim  purusham  caiva  kshetram   kshetragjnameva  ca,

etadveditumicchami   jnanam   jneyam  ca  kesava.

arjuna  uvaca  =  Arjuna  said;
kesava!  =  O  Lord;
prakrtim  purusham  ca  eva  =  nature,  and  the  experiencer;
kshetram  kshetragjnam  ca  eva  =  kshetram  (body),  and  kshetragjnan  ( jivatma );
 jnanam   jneyam  ca  etat  =  jnanam ( knowledge ),  jneyam ( object  of  the  knowledge,  all  about  these;
veditum  icchami  =  I  wish  to  know.


In the first six chapters of Srimad Bhagavad-Gita known as the Karma Yoga section, Lord Krishna described the true nature of the  atma or eternal soul, which is the sole objective of realisation and the means to perceive it by either jnana yoga or the path of  spiritual knowledge or karma yoga the path of spiritual activities.

In the second six chapters known as the Bhakti Yoga section,  Lord Krishna explains the true nature of the Supreme Lord, who is the ultimate goal of attainment along with precise knowledge of m His glory, majesty and supremacy revealing in conclusion that bhakti or exclusive loving devotion is the most superior of processes  for attaining the Supreme Lord as it is the most profound means as well as the topmost goal of human existence.

Now in the final six chapters known as the Jnana Yoga section, Lord Krishna expands on the topics of penance, detachment, the three types of  sacrifice, etc. that were not fully delineated in the previous 12 chapters.

The true nature of god-realisation achieved by the those  qualified by bhakti possessing godly endowments of spiritual attributes as well as knowledge and renunciation are exclusively enraptured by and devoted to the Supreme Lord Krishna.

To be continued  ....



Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.