Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Introduction-2

Very Important slokam-s : ( Members, follow carefully )


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :


Slokam- 8 to 12*. ( Introduction )- Pat-2.

The state  "Kshetrajnan"   imposed on "Atma" is due to its relationship with "Ksetram" only. This is already explained in detail, in previous slokam-s. Hereafter one should know about "Atma". Lord Krishna narrates : the 20 Sadhanas ( Jnana-sadhana-s ) to attain the Jnanam about "Atma". These makes a person fit for "Atmasakskatkaram". A must for all who wants to know "Atma". Slokam-8 to 12, count them one by one for us :

Of 20 Sadhanas ( Jnana-sadhana-s  ) -11 to 20

11. Anahankara is absence of false ego or misidentification of the physical body as the self. Aahankarah means relinquishing false ego and identification of the physical body as the self,

12. Anudarsanam is reflecting on the evils of birth and inevitable old age, disease and death.

13. Asakti is detachment from over attraction to wife, sons and family members. Asakti means equipoise and non-attachment to wife, sons and other loved ones.

14. Anabhisvangah is neutrality in both happiness and distress. Anabhisvanga means remaining even minded to s what life gives whether evil or excellence befalls one.

15. Sama-citta is equipoise of mind in both favourable and unfavourable circumstances.

sama-citta means to avoid both happiness or distress by temporary external circumstances

16. Bhaktih is rendering exclusive loving devotion to the Supreme Lord Krishna.

The compound words avyabhicarini bhakti means unwavering.

Unalloyed loving devotion to the Supreme Lord Krishna and realising the atma in all living beings.

17. Vivikta-desa-sevitvam is fondness for solitary places out in nature for inhabiting. vivekta- desa-sevitam is fondness for performing austerities in solitary places,

18. Adhyatma-jnana-nityatvam is to be permanently established in knowledge of the soul.

The words adhyatma-jnana nityatvam means always interested in spiritual knowledge and self-realisation and atma-tattva or knowledge of the immortal soul within.

19. Tattva-jnana-darsana is contemplating the spiritual teachings of the Vedas to gain insight.

20. Aratir jana-samsadt means indifference to mundane topics and mundane association.

To be continued. Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Introduction-3


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …