Skip to main content

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-8 to 12. Introduction-1

Very Important slokam-s : ( Members, follow carefully )


Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :


Slokam- 8 to 12*. ( Introduction )- Pat-1

The state  "Kshetrajnan"   imposed on "Atma" is due to its relationship with "Kshetram" only. This is already explained in detail, in previous slokam-s. Hereafter one should know about "Atma". Lord Krishna narrates : the 20 Sadhanas ( Jnana-sadhana-s ) to attain the Jnanam about "Atma". These makes a person fit for "Atmasakshatkaram". A must for all who wants to know "Atma". Slokam-8 to 12, count them one by one for us :

1. Amanitvam is absence of desire for honour due to reverence and humilty.

2. Adambhitva is lack of pride due to simplicity and absence of duplicity. Adambhitvam means to be without pride.

3. Ahimsa is non-violence to others by thought, word or action.  Ahimsa is not causing pain to other living beings,

4. Ksantih is tolerance, forbearance even when antagonised.  Ksantih is tolerance in the face of insults.

5. Arjavam is sincerity and straightforwardness even to those duplicitous. Arjava is uprightness and straightforwardness.

6. Acaryopasana is unmotivated devotion to the guru who imparts spiritual knowledge.

Acaryapasana means unreserved and unmotivated service to the Vaisnava spiritual master.

7. Saucam is purity in thought, word and action to enable to qualify for spiritual knowledge. Saucam means purity both internal and  external.

In the Sandilya Upanisad beginning saucam ca dvividham prohitam refers to two types of purity.

External purity is obtained by rubbing earth and water while internal purity is obtained by purification of the mind.

8. Sthairya is unwavering faith in the spiritual masters teachings from the Vedic scriptures. ,

The word sthairya means steadfastness on the path of righteousness by one who has accepted it.

9. Atma-vinigriha is self control by withdrawing the mind from pursuits other than spiritual. Atma-vinigraha or control over the body and the senses which uncontrolled hinder realisation of the atma or immortal soul,

10. Vairagyam is renunciation of activities unrelated to the soul. Vairagya indriyartha means renunciation of sense objects.

To be continued Part-2 of Introduction ..


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Srimad  Bhagavad-Gita :

Chapter-10. ( Vibhuthi-yogam)

Slokam-12 & 13.


arjuna uvaca :

param  brahma  param  dhama  pavitram  paramam  bhavan,

purusham  sasvatam  divyam  adidevamajam  vibhum.

arjuna uvaca :  arjuna  said;

param  brahma  param  dhama  =  supreme  brahmam  and  supreme  place  to  attain (sustenance );

paramam  pavitram  bhavan  =  supreme  and  purest  are  yourself;

tvam  sasvatam  divyam  purusham  =  you  are  the  divine  permanent purushan;

adi-devam-ajam  =  very  first  supreme  lord  and  unborn ( svayambhu );

vibhum  =  all  pervading,  ( said )  as;


ahustvamrshayah  sarve  devarshirnaradastatha,

asito  devalo  vyasah  svayam  caiva  bravishi me.

sarve  rshayah  =  all  rishi-s  and;

tatha  devarshih  naradah  =  also  deva  rishi  narada  and;

asitah  devalah  =  asitan  and  devala;

vyasah  ahu  =  and  vyasa  too  say;

svayam  eva  =  now  you  are  your  own;

me  bravishi  ca  =  also  explained,  ( the  above,  that  way said ) to  me.


Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Bhagavad-Gita :
Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )

Slokam-13. ( I shall now explain the knowable, knowing which you will taste the eternal. This is beginningless, and it is subordinate to Me. It is called Brahmam, the spirit, and it lies beyond the cause and effect of this material world.)

jneyam  yat  tat  pravakshyami  yatjnatvamrtamasnute,

anadimat  param   brahma  na  sat  tannasaducyate.

jneyam  yat  =   (which )  the  one  which  is  to  be  known  ( knowledge );
yat  jnatva  =  ( if  )  that  one  is  known ( knowing  that  knowledge );
amrtam  asnute  =  results  in  gaining  amrtatvm;
tat  pravakshyami  =  that  I  will  tell ( teach )  you;
anadimat  param   brahma  =  that  is  the  beginningless   Para-brahmam  ( the Supreme  abode ) ;
tat  sat  na  asat  na  =  that  either  sat ( cause ) or  asat  ( effect );
ucyate  =  cannot  be  said ( called ).

Discussion -3.
The use of the term innermost self to refer to the brahman does not create any contradiction bec…

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.

(Very important slokam-s, Here Lord narrates the details of meditation)

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita:

Chapter-5. ( Karma-sanyasa-yogam )

Slokam-27 & 28. (  Shutting out all external sense objects, keeping the eyes and vision concentrated between the two eyebrows, suspending the inward and outward breaths within the nostrils—thus controlling the mind, senses and intelligence, the tranecendentalist becomes free from desire, fear and anger. One who is always in this state is certainly liberated.)


Sparsan    krtva    bahirbahyan     cakshuscaivantare     bhruvoh,

pranapanau    samau    krtva     nasabhyantaracarinau.

( 28 ).

Yatendriyamanobuddhiah    muniahmokshaparayanah,

vigatecchabhayakrodhah    yah    sada     mukta    eva    sah.


bahirbahyan     sparsan  =  unnecessary   external    sense     objects,    such    as    sound, etc.;

bahiah    krtva  =   do    not    allowing    to   enter    within,   by    determination,   setting   them    outside;

cakshuah    ca  =  keeping …