Gita : Ch-13. Slo-1. Discussion-6.

Srimad Bhagavad-Gita :
  Chapter-13. ( Kshetra-kshetrajna-vibhaga-yogam )
  Slokam-1. ( Arjuna  question  to  Lord  Sri  Krishna ) -

   (Arjuna said: O Lord, I wish to know about prakrti [nature], Purusha [the experiencer], and the field and the knower of the field, and of knowledge and the end of knowledge. )

  arjuna uvaca,
  prakrtim  purusham  caiva  kshetram   kshetragjnameva  ca,
  etadveditumicchami   jnanam   jneyam  ca  kesava.
  arjuna  uvaca  =  Arjuna  said;
  kesava!  =  O  Lord;
  prakrtim  purusham  ca  eva  =  nature,  and  the  experiencer;
  kshetram  kshetragjnam  ca  eva  =  kshetram  (body),  and  kshetragjnan  ( jivatma );
   jnanam   jneyam  ca  etat  =  jnanam ( knowledge ),  jneyam ( object  of  the  knowledge,  all  about  these;
  veditum  icchami  =  I  wish  to  know.


The first division of Srimad Bhagavad-Gita known as the Karma Yoga section comprises the first six chapters describing two paths: the path of spiritual actions and the path of spiritual knowledge by which an aspirant may achieve atma tattva or realisation of the eternal soul. It has also been explained that the achievement of atma tattva is essential for attaining moksa or liberation from material existence.

The middle division of Srimad Bhagavad-Gita known as the Bhakti Yoga section comprises the second six chapters which reveals that bhakti or exclusive loving devotion which is preceded by factual spiritual knowledge of the Supreme Lord Krishna as revealed in the Vedic scriptures is the paramount attainment.

Such spiritual knowledge about Lord Krishna is prerequisite and essential to bhakti and subsequent attainment of communion with the Supreme Lord and eternal association which is the ultimate goal and most exalted destination. It is also elucidated herein that bhakti constitutes the means by which those aspirants ambitious of acquiring opulence and those aspirants ambitious for atma-tattva or soul realisation can both have their respective desires fulfilled as well.

To be continued  ...


Popular posts from this blog

Gita : Ch-10. Slo-12 & 13.

Gita : Ch-13. Slo-13. Discussion-3.

Gita : Ch-5. Slo-27 & 28.